

The EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation

HORIZON 2020

Associated Countries

Version 1.0

28 January 2014



Associated Countries

Association is governed by Article 7 of the Horizon 2020 Regulation. Legal entities from Associated Countries can participate under the same conditions as legal entities from the Member States. Countries can only associate to Horizon 2020 by conclusion of a specific international agreement, which needs to be negotiated with each country that wishes to associate to Horizon 2020. Most of these agreements will be finalised during the first months of 2014. Association agreements, once agreed, will be applied retrospectively from 1 January 2014 (i.e. from the beginning of Horizon 2020).

In order to facilitate the implementation of Horizon 2020 in 2014, and with the exception of Liechtenstein which does not intend to associate from the start of Horizon 2020, it will be assumed that countries associated to the Seventh Framework Programme for Research and Technological Development (FP7) will conclude association agreements for Horizon 2020. These countries are:

- Albania
- Bosnia and Herzegovina
- Faroe Islands¹
- Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
- Iceland
- Israel
- Moldova
- Montenegro
- Norway
- Serbia
- Switzerland
- Turkey

Legal entities from these countries are encouraged to participate in proposals submitted under the first Horizon 2020 calls for proposals. As long as the respective Association agreements are not in place, and in order not to delay proposal evaluation and negotiation, these countries will be assumed to be associated and legal entities from these countries will count towards the minimum participation requirements in all parts of Horizon 2020, as though they are established in an Associated Country (with the exception of the Faroe Islands, see footnote 1).

Should Association agreements still not be in place by the time of the need to sign grant agreements or other forms of financial support under Horizon 2020, then the eligibility of the proposal (and, where relevant, the funding from the Union budget to be provided to the legal entities in question) will be reassessed on the basis that the country is not associated to Horizon 2020. This implies that entities from such countries would not get funded automatically, but could get funding on an exceptional basis.

In the case of Liechtenstein, legal entities based in Liechtenstein can participate on the same basis as those other international partner countries which are not associated to Horizon 2020.

¹ In the case of the Faroe Islands, it currently appears that association will not be complete until late in 2014. Hence, it is likely that entities from the Faroe Islands will only be able to participate as "third country" participants for most of the calls in 2014, while the legal effects of association will most likely take place from 1 January 2015.